Dr. Santosh Haram

Professor and Director

National Center for Nanosciences and Nanotechnology, University of Mumbai.
Vidyanagri, Sanacruz(E), Mumbai- 400098.

Email:- director@nano.mu.ac.in





      Prof. Santosh Haram is entrusted as director, national center for nanoscience and nanotechnology, University of Mumbai from June 2017.

      Prof. Santosh has obtained his M.Sc. (1988) and Ph.D. (1994) from IIT-Bombay and TIFR Mumbai, respectively. His topic of Ph.D. was related to the CuISe2 based photoelectrochemical solar cells under the guidance of Prof. K.S.V. Santhanam. In his postdoctoral experience at University of Texas at Austin under the mentorship of Prof. Allen J. Bard, he brought out the unique application of scanning electrochemical microscopy (SECM) and voltammetry techniques to study semiconductor Quantum dots dispersions. For the first time, a methodology has been developed to estimate the position of electronic states of Q-dots which otherwise need involved technique like photoelectron spectroscopy. The work is published in JACS(2001) Science (2002) and many other reputed journals with high citations. After brief association with University Mumbai as a assistant Professsor, He joined University of Pune as Associate Professor and then later promoted to professor. He has now active research group at University Pune with thrust areas related to electrochemical methods to develop nanophase materials for energy applications. The group is working on CZTS and perovskite materials for solar cell applications, graphene and graphitic nitride based materials for hydrogen evolution reactions and oxygen reduction reactions. The nanophase materials have also been developed for direct methanol fuel cells applications. He guided so far 15 Ph.D. students and mentored three post doctoral fellow who are well placed at reputed national laboratories and Universities like CSIR-CECRI and IIT-Delhi. He has attracted research funds from International funding bodies like European Commission and National funding agencies like DST-SERB, BRNS, DBT etc.

      He is a recipient of various fellowships and award viz. Fulbright fellow (2013), DST-BOYSCAST fellow (2000), Best teacher awards in chemistry from Tata chemicals (2012), Late Prof. V.K. Joag award from Pune University (2011), Prof. M.M. sharma Award for Science and Technology from Marathi Vidyan Parishad (2016).


Copyrights (c) NCNNUM