Mumbai University Logo Ratnagiri Campus
Ratnagiri Campus Ratnagiri Campus (Mumbai University)
About Us

Rajabai TowerThe University of Mumbai (known earlier as University of Bombay) is one of the oldest and premier Universities in India. It was established in 1857 consequent upon "Wood's Education Dispatch", and it is one amongst the first three Universities in India.

As a sequel to the change in the name of the city from Bombay to Mumbai, the name of the University has been changed from “University of Bombay” to “University of Mumbai”, vide notification issued by the Government of Maharashtra and published in the Government Gazette dated 4th September, 1996.

The profile of this University carved out in 150 years of its functioning attests to its manifold achievements as the intellectual and moral powerhouse of the society. The University has always given its best to the country in general and to the city of Mumbai in particular by enthusiastically shouldering an ever-growing load of social values and opportunities.

Initially, the University concentrated its efforts on controlling teaching at the undergraduate level and in conducting examinations. Later on it took up research and the task of imparting instructions at the Post-Graduate level. This resulted in the establishment of the University Departments beginning with the School of Sociology and Civics & Politics. The independence of the country led to the re-organization of the functions and powers of the University with the passing of the Bombay University Act of 1953.

It is now granted a Five Star status by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC). It has two campuses of area 230 acres and 13 acres, with 1.25 million square feet of built-up area, 22 thousand sq. feet of class-rooms and 84 thousand sq feet of laboratory space. It has two post-graduate centers, 492 affiliated colleges, over 90 Institutions and 55 Post-graduate Departments. It has established its name in industrial collaborations and runs various professional courses.

At national level, it has excelled in sports, cultural and out-reach activities. In the last five years it has seen 104% increase in under-graduate students, 112% increase in post-graduate students and 147% increase in distance - education students. There is 156% increase in the number of research papers published in International journals. 12 Department/sections are recognized under various national programmes, such as SAP/CAS/DRS/DSA/COSIST/FIST. More than 80 teachers are on various professional bodies. 18 National/International awards are won by teachers in the last five years. Every year about 40 teachers visit abroad for academic activities. Recently more than 20 self-supporting courses have been started by the University.

Ratnagiri campus entranceVisualising the need to cater academic and administrative services to the students of Konkan region, the University of Mumbai initiated an Administrative Sub-Centre at Ratnagiri on September 05, 1989. Initially the main purpose of the Sub-Centre was to decentralise some of the student services. Due to the constraint of space, expansion of student services as also introduction of courses could not be realised.

Initially, the Sub-Centre was located in the premises of a B.Ed. College near Bus Stand. Later, it was shifted to Gogate-Joglekar College. A few Diploma Courses were initiated from here. The Academic activities of the Sub-Centre began when the Sub-Centre was shifted to Thibaw Palace and were inaugurated at the hands of Hon’ble Shri. Manohar Joshi, the then Chief Minister of Maharashtra on June 10, 1997. Beginning with the academic year 1997-98, all the student services and some need-based academic courses were offered by the University from the Sub-Centre.

The University of Mumbai subsequently acquired 13 acres of land for Sub-Centre at Plot No. P-61, MIDC, Mirjole (Ratnagiri) and shifted its base into its own premises on February 15, 2005.

All rights reserved © University of Mumbai. Site designed and maintained by Reach